By default, only one user can edit the repository at a time, but a more efficient environment would allow developers to modify the repository simultaneously and then check in changes. Oracle BI allows multiple developers to work on objects from the same repository during group development of Oracle BI applications.
Steps for configuring Oracle BI multi-user development environment:
In the Admin tool, open the Project Manager
Path:-Select Manage > Projects and then Action > New project for creating new project.
From the figure down below, you can notice two parts, in the left you can see objects that are available for the project and the right part consists of objects that can be added in projects. Select the objects from the left part that you want to add to the project and click the Add button. If you have selected the presentation catalog, all fact and dependent objects are selected in the project.
Besides the catalog, other objects such as USER, groups, Variables and initialization blocks can also be added in projects. Apart from this, you can also remove unwanted objects from project by clicking the Remove button.
2) Set up a shared network directory
Administrator needs to identify or create a shared network directory that can be accessible to developers to keep the repository file at that location. This repository is the master repository which is accessible to multiple developers to check in or check out the changes done. Developer has to point to this directory path when they use Admin tool at their machine.
Making changes in the Admin tool at the local machine to use as a multi-user development environment:
1)Point to multi-user directory:
Set up for Admin tool to point multi-user development directory.
Path:-Select Tools > Options and then select Multiuser tab.
From the figure, it can be seen that it is a two field, one multi-user development directory in which you have to browse the path of the shared directory where the original repository has been kept for development purposes. The other field full name is optional, but if the user mentions name in that field, it helps in tracking the changes made by each user and stored in the HKEY_CURRENT_USER part of registry and is therefore unique for each login on computer.
2. Check out project:-
After pointing to the multi-user development , the directory developer can check out desired projects.
To check out projects, go to path File > Multiuser > Checkout which will be only available when the multi-user environment is setup. After this, the developer is presented with a dialog box to select the master repository if one has more than one repository. Select the repository , then enter user name and password, it will navigate to select the project or projects to be imported. After selecting the projects, user must enter the name of the new repository which will be stored in user’s local directory.
3.Admin tool task during checkout:-
During checkout , the admin tool performs the following task:-
- Makes a temporary copy of the master repository on the local machine.
- Saves local copy of projects in the new repository on the local machine.
- Saves second local copy of project in the new repository on the l
local machine with prefix as “original”.
- Deletes temporary copy of the master repository from the local machine.
4. Changes done in metadata:-
Changes can be performed on logical tables, table definitions and logical table sources. Developers can work on the same project but if one developer deletes objects, it will be migrated without any warning. So developers should keep in mind that modifications can affect others too.
5. Tasks done during check-in:-
The Admin tool perform the process of locking the master repository to prevent other developers from attempting to merge at the same time and copies the master repository to a local directory so that the developer will be merging with the latest or recent repository.
6. Check in changes:-
After performing modifications on the repository, the developer needs to check in changes and merge with the master repository in the shared path. Only one developer at a time can merge it. After selecting File > Multi-user >Merge local changes, the developer is shown a dialog box having full name and the option to write comments if any and after clicking ok , the admin tool performs the process of copying master from shared and keeps it on the local machine.
After developers lock the master repository, the merge process take place. After the merge process, developers have to publish to the network. Go to path File >Multi-user >Publish to Network to publish changes done in the repository. This will finally merge local repository changes to the master repository and at the same time a local copy of the repository has been removed from the local machine.
- History menu option:-This option gives the detail of all the changes performed during the merge process. We can have the version history that tracks all the changes performed in the repository during the merge process.
- It helps to track the Project history.
- Multiuser develop environment is purely for repository development. Dashboards/Reports can be developed/managed by any no of users in the browser once the presentation server is up.